Getting started with ModelBuilder

Posted: February 22, 2012 in ESRI ModelBuilder, ModelBuilder
Tags:

I’ve been struggling to establish what the best starting point would be to introduce ArcGIS ModelBuilder to someone that has never used it before.

I cam across the following post on the esri Mapping Center Blog and thought it was appropriate as an introduction to ModelBuilder.

“What I wish I had known about ModelBuilder before I started using it”

The 13 items listed are of great importance when creating new models within ModelBuilder and as the author states he wished he had known them before he began using ModelBuilder.

The first chapter within the ESRI Press book “Getting to Know ArcGIS ModelBuilder” starts out with introducing model building.

My next post (hopefully tomorrow) will start with examining existing models and explaining the components of these models. My future posts will develop from thereon to more complex models to where scripts are embedded within models.

I’ll keep posts related to ModelBuilder under the ModelBuilder heading and posts related to ArcPy and Python under their respective headings.

Leave a comment